We Are a Beginning

I’m fairly confident quite a few of you are wondering where in the world my blog name came from and or why I chose it.

We Are A Beginning is a song written by Sarah Masen. She wrote it for her wedding and it’s… well, it’s just that. It’s about about the profoundness of the beginning of a family, starting a new (something) together that has never been before and yet has been done billions of times before.

Sarah’s music was always a bit esoteric, even for me. She wrote about things that I didn’t grasp when I first started listening in early high school. Even now, over a decade later, I still pick up on little gems she hid in her songs. There was something comforting about knowing that Sarah had written things that I never would have caught onto at my age. Her skill at putting even her most tragic thoughts so delicately was endearing. It’s strange to move my favorite artists from high school from “genius” to merely “poetic” but Sarah made the transition more easily than others.

I’ll add the lyrics. If you google the song title and Sarah’s name, you can give it a listen. Or not. :)

I felt this song and Sarah represented me in so many ways. Sarah’s not a planner, she’s just as chaotic and sporadic and philosophizing as I am. And I love that about her.

The things she’s written about her first year of marriage aren’t markedly different from how I feel – save for the fact that her husband is also a rather artsy and unorganized person like she is. My husband is very organized. I mean, the man makes lists. LISTS.

Anyway, here’s the lyrics…

 

May our standing ask permission
To be a kind of benediction
To a love we know is bigger than ourselves

The spirit and your witness
Is bearing light upon our weakness
Giving weight to what we cannot see alone

We come with what we are
We come with what we’ve done
We come with what we are
We are a beginning

In faith we look to Comfort
She is laying her old hands upon our souls as we discover
We are waking more to hope

Your committed celebration
Is part of our salvation
Holding on to what we know we cannot hold alone

Because we are not that strong
Sometimes afraid of what we?ve done
We are not that strong
But we are a beginning

We are a beginning

Pray for the bravery
To act upon the kindness of forgiveness
And the mystery of clarity sometimes
Mercy is grateful to go under all our failures
Thanks be to Christ for severity
That’s kissed us on our cheeks

May our standing ask permission
To be a kind of benediction
To a love we know is bigger than ourselves

Because we are not that strong
Most times afraid of what we’ve done
Oh we are not that strong
But we are a beginning…

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

