weeks much like this one

I love days like today in Seattle (and Portland). It’s gray, overcast and a little windy but the ground is dry. And you can see the mountains. This weather makes me feel happy and refreshed. It makes me feel a but more vivacious and bubbly than other weather.

But even with my favorite weather, it’s been a hell of a week. Or as my friend Allison put it last night, it’s been a really sad week.

A lot of it has to do with cancer. A friend’s sister passed away the other day. Allison’s best friend’s mom just found out she has cancer. I found out today that a friend of a friend is 9 months pregnant and has a brain tumor. They can’t do any testing until the baby is born.

Wow.

It’s also been a week of personal growth for me. Making the decision to accept people for who they are, putting up boundaries to keep from being taken advantage of, taking the initiative to open the lines of communication when I’m being asked to guess what the questioner is wanting me to say (ummm, no.)

Sadness and growth.

Both good things.

I guess most people would think I’m crazy for saying that sadness is a good thing. But I’ve learned to find beauty in owning both tragedy and grace-filled moments. Not wishing for something else or something better but being content.

The words of Saint Paul in his letter to Timothy always resonate with me in times like this.

For godliness with contentment is great gain, for we brought nothing into the world and we can take nothing out.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

