Two Cents on Egypt

I’m not going to get into a lot of political discussions here (or I suppose I can use my old blog for that if need be) but I wanted to take a minute to rain on your “Egypt is a free, secular democracy!” parade. (You’re welcome.)

If you’ve ever read a history book, you know that revolutions, even ones led by the people, don’t often end well. Ok, maybe you don’t know that and you have read a history book or two but regardless that’s just the case. If you don’t believe me, look at the fact that army is now in charge in Egypt and while I know nothing about their constitution, I know that it has been suspended. A militia enforcing unknown laws in a troubled Arab nation does not sound like a recipe for a bright and shining democracy to me.

The fact is, I can’t think of a single democracy that started without a war. If you can, please name one. I’m quite interested. What is going on in Egypt is not the organic birthing of a democracy but a timed and strategic play by power-mongering radicals under the guise of peaceful democracy.

All I’m saying is that this is most likely a Trojan horse by the Muslim Brotherhood. (And believe me, I did not come to this conclusion on my own.) All of this nonsensical cheering is gratuitous as six months with an army running a country and a suspended constitution is terrible idea under the best of circumstances. Continue to pray for the citizenry of Egypt as I’m afraid that the days of the so-called president Mubarak may have been the best modern Egypt will ever see.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Two Cents on Egypt

Leave a Reply

