sugar monster

If we are being honest, I’m pretty lucky when it comes to my weight. My parents are both slim and, compared to most of America, extremely healthy. The biggest I’ve ever been is 150 pounds during my freshman year of college. As of today I’m 131 (and something like 5’5 1/2″)

Those numbers are awesome, even my doctor told me so. But I’m not very healthy. I read a stat recently that said while 2/3 of Americans are overweight, almost 9 out of 10 of us believe we are healthy eaters.

Uhhh…

I know I’m not a healthy eater. Occasionally healthy perhaps but that’s as far as I’ll take it. I don’t eat veggies every day. I love eat a lot of things that’s really high in sugar: orange juice, yogurt, honey, froyo, ice cream, cereal.

This was evidenced yesterday when I punched my entire day’s consumption into MyFitnessPal’s app on my phone. With a cup of applesauce, a banana and some (too many) strawberries, my sugar consumption clocked in at something like 86 grams. Whoa. No ice cream, no orange juice. (On a usual, non-Lenten day, I’d have both.)

So now I’m planning attempting to get my sugar below 50 grams – even if it’s from fruit. Thus far today I’ve had 39 grams. My suggested (or maybe we should say realistic) intake is 24 grams.

We’ll see if I can pull this off…

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

