four things

I’ve always been terrible at getting things done.

For example, it took me ten months after moving to Seattle from Portland to get my license. The one I turned in was from a Portland address I’d had for six months in 2008. It took me seven months to get my passport after I’d filled out the paperwork and had my passport photos hanging around. (Now, of course, I haven’t had a chance to use it.)

When I was single and lived by myself, if I had a bad day at work or a financial tight spot, I would spend a week in what I called Survival Mode. I wouldn’t do anything except cook. No cleaning, no laundry, no dishes. I might not even go hang out with friends. I just sat in my tiny apartment and read.

To be fair, I have gotten a little better. I used to say “the only thing I know I’ll do every day is breath”. Thankfully, I’ve now got washing my face and flossing down! I’m even better about showering daily, but that’s an entirely different blog post. ;)

There are four things that I want to get done every day, now that I don’t find myself in Survival Mode nearly as frequently. I’ll list them in no particular order.

1) Work out for an hour.

2) Read the Bible.

3) Write at least 250 words in my novel.

4) Clean up the house before I go to bed.

Man.

I don’t know why those four things are SO overwhelming sometimes. It’s so hard for me to prioritize. I love to loaf on the couch with a good book and not move until bedtime.

What’s strange about my list of daily to-dos is that no one item is more difficult for me than the next. They all take about the same amount of commitment on my part. I’m sure for a lot of people, reading a couple chapters of the Bible is far easier than an hour of cardio and for others writing daily is much easier than picking up the house. It really isn’t like that for me. It’s all about equal.

In the last five days, I’ve completed my four things twice. Yes, 40% is failing. But it’s better than the week before where I was at 0% for the four things. It would be downright embarrassing to count my progress compared to, say, my mother, who can blow through a 200 point to-do list in under four hours. (I’m not even exaggerating that.)  I think the only people who accomplish more on a daily basis live in Washington DC and even then, a fair amount of what the worker bees on the Hill do is destruction.

Tonight, I’m hoping for two days in a row of being able to check off all four things. Who knows if I’ll actually pull it off. After all, I need to finish Divergent. And maybe take a nap!

Ugh! I hate how easily drawn into laziness I am. Relaxing isn’t a bad thing, but I don’t typically get wound up so it’s not something I need often.

This whole topic is shamefully hilarious. The statement “I suck at life!” comes to mind – part joking and part truth. But I really, really need to be able to get these things down. Even better if it’s finished before I leave for work. It’s scary to think about how much would be left undone every day if we had a child! Which basically boils everything down to I need to learn this now. And hopefully I will!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “four things

  1. I know you wrote this awhile ago but I just had to comment.

    The first 4 years my hubby and I were married we were in college full-time and it helped cement some bad housekeeping habits.

    Now we have two girls and I am home with them full-time. I have much less time but have to get much more done. I don’t have the time to do a full scale, entire house cleaning from top to bottom in one day. I have to tackle the house with a plan. It is an infant plan, just started this week. :)

    I will think of you and your four things as I work through my weekly goals. Be encouraged because you are not alone. Self-discipline is a wonderful character trait to possess and your children will learn it from you.

Leave a Reply

