Dear Nancy, Love Graybeard

Nancy Noble is one of my favorite people that I’ve ever met.

I remember the first time I saw her. In real life. There were no myspace pictures or cell phone snapshots before this moment. She walked out of the door of her cute house in a jacket, jeans and flip flops. In October. In North Portland. She had red hair.

I commented on that. I knew I would like her. I mean, I just knew it.

(The first night we ever hung out. With our favorite Sophiedoll!)

I said, “Oh, she has red hair. I was just talking about that, remember?” (The person I was speaking to likely did not remember but that’s ok. I know I had been talking about red headed people and how I needed one in my life not even a week prior.)

Nancy hopped into the car with my friends Tyler and Sophie and we followed along, heading downtown to somewhere. To show Nancy around her brand new city/home and take pictures and drink coffee and sit on the Steel Bridge and laugh. And laugh and laugh.

Nancy is one of the most incredible humans you will ever meet. I mean that. Ever.

Soon after we met, we started going to lunch every Wednesday because we worked a few miles apart. She was the one person who really called me out on my mistakes in love because she cared about me, not because it reflected poorly on her or she enjoyed bossing people around. It was sincere and very Christlike. I will always appreciate that about her.

We’ve only really been in one… arguement. Frankly, I don’t even know if I should call it that. But whatever it was, it was definitely my fault. I promised that I would help her and then slacked off and didn’t follow through. She called me out on it – again in love – because I needed it. (If you can’t tell, I spent a lot of time screwing around when I should have been committed and disciplined but those stories for another blog!) I had really let her down and strangely, it still makes me hurt that I failed to be there when she needed me and offered me an opportunity to excel. That’s what Nancy does because she’s just that kind of person.

Tomorrow, Nancy starts a new chapter in her life and I couldn’t be more excited for her. She has been through so much with life and relationships (and having to deal with ME! Heh.) I’m so thankful that the Lord brought her an amazing man to defend her, provide for her, adore her and serve her and love her like Christ loves the church. (Ummm, how could you not be stoked on that?)

Dear Naia,

Thanks for being such an amazing and faithful friend to me and to our friends (Sophie, Tyler and Jess specifically but all of them are included in this!) I’m so excited for this new chapter in your life. I pray that the Lord fills it with light and love and blessing and abundance. I hope that a year from now, you look back on that happiest year you’ve ever had. That you taste and see the Lord is good.

I love you!

-graybeard


*          *          *

All photos taken by (I think!) Tyler Gould, Sophie Hawley, myself and whoever took Nancy + Jason’s engagement photos. I will find out and give proper credit to them asap!

1 Comment

Filed under personal

One response to “Dear Nancy, Love Graybeard

  1. This is so sweet! I love this tribute :)

Leave a Reply

