Confession: I Feel Bad For My Husband

To be honest, I know he thinks he’s getting the better end of the deal. He gets to have sex with me, after all.

But really, I have to be one of the hardest people he’s ever had to live with. If not THEE hardest.

For one, I’ve become very high maintenance. I didn’t used to be. In the past, believe it or not but you can ask my mother, I was very chill about hair/makeup/clothes. I cared more about my favorite bands and getting good babysitting gigs than for all that stuff. Now, I walk around with my entire makeup bag in my purse and just my top six facial staples cost something in the realm of $200-300 (purchased at least twice a year). This doesn’t include clothes or the fact that I rarely do the dishes. (I’m recovering from survival mode, I think there’s a blog post about that somewhere on here.)

*If you’re a man, feel free to skip the next paragraph. You’ve been warned.

Ok, beyond being high maintenance, my cycle is… annoying. I complain about it a lot. I know that’s not very womanly. In fact, it’s downright bitchy. And I am absolutely of the opinion that Shark Week doesn’t make it ok to be a jerk to your husband/boyfriend/anyone else of the male persuasion, I take ibuprofen because both times of the month cause me a fair amount of discomfort lately.

I have a host of other annoying habits and quirks: I run my car fuel down to empty on a regular basis, my morning breath could kill a small animal, my morning hair is scarier than Donald Trump’s, I occasionally turn my husband down for sex by saying “I love you”, I would have a $150 a month Jamba Juice habit if I didn’t have a married budget to think about, I forget to cancel things so we pay extra for them all the time… the list goes on.

I don’t know if I’d want to be married to me, and I realize that it’s only by the grace of God that my husband will continue to. Which means I need an action plan so that I can be a better wife because, in my own estimation, (not my husband’s) I suck at it thus far.

Do you have any tips for being a good spouse? Feel free to share!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Confession: I Feel Bad For My Husband

  1. As I obviously know nothing about being a spouse, I would suggest asking Sharideth. She’s wise about these things. :)

  2. Jana

    It sounds like you know the areas you can work on…. so just try to make a change when you think about it. After time, maybe it will become a better habit. No one is perfect, but we can all improve :)

Leave a Reply

