thankfully

I’ve been whining a lot lately. Not necessarily on the blog or to other people (heh, about that). But I have been. My prayer time has been sort of a bratty “gimme” session with a bad attitude and poor motivations.

I am tired and haven’t been taking care of myself. That’s my fault. I’m way more depressed about being high risk than I ever thought I would be. It sucks and a lot of times I fight back tears. Holy crap. I really thought i’d be ok with this!

Deep breaths.

Still, there are plenty of things to be thankful for. God has blessed us a lot the last few days and honestly, the last few months. I am all lined up for a promotion at work, we’ve both had extra work come in that’s been really helpful to the family budget. We’ve been able to provide a friend with a place to stay thanks to our modest, two bedroom apartment. All of our bills are being paid. We have more than enough to eat.

Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday. I am SO thankful for the amazing friends we get to enjoy a meal with this Thursday. Men and women from all over, all with different backgrounds, celebrating over turkey and good wine because of Jesus’ kingdom, full of hope that someday all our tears will be washed away.

I’m thankful for my amazingly generous and hardworking husband.

I’m thankful for peace in my marriage.

I’m thankful for friends who have become family.

I’m thankful that my prayers are heard, even when the answer is “no” or “later”.

I’m thankful that I was born in America and all the freedoms that provides.

I’m thankful that I’m about to enjoy the best meal of the year with people who love me even when I do not love myself.

What are you thankful for?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “thankfully

  1. i’m thankful for you :) great words.. i know you have a lot on your mind these days, but concentrating on the positives is a great help. you both are in my prayers. xo

  2. I am thankful for amazing children. I am thankful my son lives closer than Europe this year and that he has a wife that is perfect for him and that we can find joy in. I am thankful for a God that loves me and keeps me even when i am not as faithful as i would like to be.

Leave a Reply

