“Douglasses don’t know their own strength.”

Friday was 18 months of wedded bliss for us! Yay! I also felt the baby kick for the first time! And I had energy!

Needless to say, it was an incredible day for me. So I tried to pay it forward (to my husband!).

As a dad, the beginning of pregnancy must feel like a very disconnected time. The only time you see or hear your baby is at the doctor’s office in a dark room once every other month. You’ve almost completely lost the wife you once knew. You know, the woman who had energy and was fun to be around and was always talking about her feelings? Yeah, she’s now constantly sick and exhausted and pushing you away. All the while she LOOKS EXACTLY THE SAME. That has got to suck.

In retrospect, I feel like I would have done a lot differently to prepare for the first trimester. I had no idea I was going to get hit with all day morning sickness like the plague, I thought I’d just float through like my mom. HA! Something to keep in mind if the typical temporary mom-insanity kicks in and I decide I want to do this again. Though to be honest, I don’t know WHAT I would have done differently… I just feel like there must be a better way to get through all this.

All the mommas out there already know that feeling your baby kick, punch and fidget for the first time is one of the most incredible things you will ever have the privilege of experiencing. I think I practically yelled at my boss when I figured out what it was! “I JUST FELT THE BABY KICK!” Later in the day, I think Poppy might have been upset about something because kid was squirming around like a little sea monkey for several moments.

So everyone says that the first time you feel your baby move will be like popcorn, butterflies, bubbles, goldfish swimming, etc. That is what I had been anticipating this entire time. But no, I got a tiny foot in the gut right below my belly button. It was then I realized that it was in fact N’s child that I was carrying. Kid has lightening quick reflexes, something that reminds me a lot of his or her dad because that man can move faster than anyone I’ve ever seen in my entire life. Watching him PRETEND to fight is terrifying. Thankfully, he is always on my team! ;)

I sent N a text and told him what happened with Poppy kicking me. He wrote back and said “Douglasses don’t know their own strength. It is a curse.”

Well, thanks for that honey! I’m really looking forward to having my own baby Samson inside of me, especially at 30+ weeks! ;)

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to ““Douglasses don’t know their own strength.”

  1. SaraiD

    So excited! Congrats on your 18 months of wedded bliss. I can’t wait to meet that little Wrestler baby inside you…I love the Douglasses so much!!

  2. oh boy! you have an adventure ahead of you still :) loved reading this. LOVE your photo!! you look soooo tiny and adorable!!

    called it.

Leave a Reply

