So Long, Seattle

This post is very clearly late, as in the chaos of moving to Oregon and then back to Washington in 8 weeks, it never saw the light of the internet. But it is a short summary of my thoughts on our move to Yakima.

When I first moved to Seattle, I was pretty stoked. I’d talked about moving to Seattle for years and when I finally had the opportunity, I jumped on it. It didn’t hurt that I met my husband ten days later.

Seattle has been my favorite city for a long time. Probably since high school. It was like a fancier, prettier, bigger version of Portland. There was lots to do, lots more people, more opportunity and so on. I loved the mountains, the water, the handful of perfectly warm, summer days.

But there was a lot not to love, of course. The weather, the traffic, the cost of living all sucked. There are plenty of free things to do but finding parking for those events was downright oppressive. There were so many people, and maybe some of my naivety is gone because I really didn’t feel comfortable by myself downtown. (I do not feel terribly comfortable by myself downtown Portland nowadays, either.) Our community group was about 4 1/2 miles away and it took us 30 minutes to get there. So much of it was ridiculous.

All that to say, I do not think Seattle is my favorite town anymore. I don’t have a favorite town at this moment if we’re going to be 100% honest. And I wouldn’t be opposed to moving back to Seattle in the future under the right conditions. But for now, I am happy to be a small town girl in eastern Washington.

jechols001

Photo by my friend Jeremy Echols. Harbor Island, Seattle, WA

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

