Merry Christmas

photo

Letter to my son

Dear Dillinger,

You are 4 1/2 months old today. This is striking because regularly I look at you in awe of the fact that I have a child. You bring me more joy than any human should be entitled to experience, even when you won’t stop crying and I want to pull my hair out. Or when you’re up all night and I contemplate giving you to some nuns.

This weekend you’ve taken to staying up until 11pm as opposed to the last two months when you got sleepy around 7. You have no idea how lucky you are that you have a daddy who would prefer that I love you well and nap with you (did I mention being up all night?) than have the house picked up.

Being a mom is the hardest, most rewarding thing I have ever experienced but without your dad it would just be hard. I hope someday you aspire to be like him. I’ve never met anyone who serves better, works harder or cares more than your father.

Dillinger, every day with you is a gift. I know that I will not always live up to your expectations. I know there will be seasons when I have to make decisions that will make you angry. I pray that those seasons are short and that our relationship is filled with joy, even when we do not see eye to eye.

I’m so thankful God gave me the honor of being your mommy.

Love,
Momma

1 Comment

Filed under personal

One response to “Merry Christmas

  1. precious! perfect letter… wonderful mommy, fortunate son :) xo, love you! all three of yas

Leave a Reply

