Step It Up

Yesterday, I realized that I needed to get serious about working out. While I don’t beat myself up about it, I’m not very strong yet. I still have a considerable amount of belly fat left over from pregnancy, though I’m within a pound of my normal pre-pregnancy weight range. As I have said before, the fastest way to recover from pregnancy weight gain is CrossFit and breastfeeding! However, this combination is not for the faint of heart. Heh. Hey, I should start some weird movement about this. CF+BF. Hehe. (c) don’t even think about it!

EDIT

I tried yoga for the first time yesterday and am obsessed! Even beginners yoga so hard! I never would have guessed. Mad respect for all the yogis out there who I thought were just sitting around breathing deeply and emptying their minds. My apologies. So I’m adding that to my mix as well. Hoping to squeeze in 15 minutes a day during naptime or something. I don’t plan on taking an actual class for a while yet!

yoga-women-sport-physical-fitness-96324

Nano started a juice fast Sunday night so I have been busy recommitting to paleo after crashing and burning with CF + BF. My friend Jake, who is my go to resource for all things paleo, asked me what I was eating daily and then informed me that I wasn’t getting enough carbs. He suggested throwing sweet potatoes in the oven right before leaving for CrossFit so there was a high carb snack waiting when we got home. Genius! I load my sweet potato up with tons of clarified butter (several tablespoons) and eat the whole thing. Sweet potato skin is basically paleo candy. So dang yummy.

On that note, I will officially call BS on anyone who says they don’t eat paleo because they can’t get enough carbs. If you need more carbs but you’re low carb while doing paleo, you’re doing it wrong.

Hoping to have some interviews with CrossFit coaches and keep a better log of what our WODs are at the box here in the near future so you can see that I’m not at all impressive at my sport of choice. Seriously, I suck at it. ;)

1 Comment

Filed under personal

One response to “Step It Up

  1. Valerie

    LOL about how you thought yogis did! Oh, and I love sweet potatoes!

Leave a Reply

