Little Things

I haven’t discussed this much around here but Dillinger is not the best sleeper. Or eater. To say the least.

Originally, I thought I was going to use some form of cry it out/Baby Wise but after a friend persuaded me to do some research, I realized the negatives outweighed the positives for me. So I bought a little sleeper/bassinet and prepared to have Dillinger sleep right next to our bed. Biggest waste of $30 EVER, kid was in it for maybe an hour total over the first three weeks and I gave up.

photo 2(1)

Cosleeping was the only way I got any sleep without leaving Dillinger to work himself into hysteria. Any time he slept elsewhere, I was up 30 times a night (not exaggerating) trying to get him to go back to sleep. I realize that not every sleeping situation works for every family but I’m convinced whoever invented nurseries was just playing a cruel joke. At least with Dillinger in bed with me, I only had to wake up once every hour or two, I could feed him on the spot and we could both drift off to sleep again.

I actually got to the point where I enjoyed feeding Dillinger but he continued to eat every other hour or more through four months. I essentially wrote off anyone who said their baby slept most of the night or ate every four hours as a liar. The day he hit four months, I started giving him bites of sweet potato. The every-two-hours feedings were just too much! In retrospect I would have just toughed it out but after four straight months of feedings every two hours, I was a bit overwhelmed.

Anyway, he seemed to make this week. He’s only waking up once at night to eat and sometimes once early in the morning. Such an improvement from just a week ago. I don’t even expect it to last but four nights of good sleep after six months feels pretty great. I will take what I can get!

photo 1(1)

Leave a comment

Filed under personal

Leave a Reply

