Rediscovering Veggies

Sorry I have been neglecting my blog lately! Lots of transition and planning going on over here. I have definitely been slacking off. There are several drafts of blog posts just sitting, as I have started quite a few without ever finishing them. Hopefully I can get back on the right track here.

I have a confession. I preach a lot better than I practice. Especially when it comes to food. I know how I am supposed to eat from a scientific perspective (none of that low-fat nonsense the government pushes) and I talk about it a LOT but actually following through? That’s a little tough. It’s not because I don’t want to, or even because I’d rather eat junk. I’d always rather eat clean! I’d happily take steamed broccoli and fish over a fast food burger or a low fat yogurt.

Something had to change! Almost everything packaged or processed has soy in it. Even a regular loaf of bread has a ton of chemicals you can’t read or define to keep it fresh. I’m not interested in soy or chemicals. Look at our skyrocketing cancer stats if you think the way we as a culture have been eating is healthy.

So I went to the grocery store and loaded up on veggies. Didn’t even buy any protein. (Though you can see, I almost cleared the place of all the paleo variations of LARA Bars.)

photo 1The couple in front of me in line said I was putting them to shame. I didn’t even know what to say! Though I did seriously consider plugging paleo. The man looked like he loved him some red meat and wouldn’t be even remotely interested in a “diet”. I just smiled and nodded. You can’t even see the greens in this pic. I was pretty impressed with myself honestly. But I still needed to turn all my veggies INTO something.

Pulling some inspiration from Ellie Heidel’s instagram feed, I successfully pulled together two completely paleo dishes. In fact, I’ve eaten veggies with every meal, haven’t had meat in several days and haven’t even suffered from the low carb flu that affects so many people starting out in paleo.

With a few fresh, simple ingredients, it’s really easy to eat yummy, healthy meals that are free from grains, sugar, soy and chemicals. I’m hooked!

photo 2

Brussel sprouts, onions sauteed with olive oil, butter, salt and pepper + sweet potato hash, topped with avo.photo 3

My first blood orange! Is there supposed to be a difference in taste? I could barely tell. photo 4

Sauteed red cabbage, yellow squash, onions with cilantro and garlic. A bit of s+p, a splash of fresh lemon juice. More sweet potatoes.

Hope you have a happy, veggie-powered Monday!

1 Comment

Filed under personal

One response to “Rediscovering Veggies

  1. Ashley

    K, can you link to your cookbook of choice, or plan me a week or three of groceries? I need your help!

Leave a Reply

