Toddler Tantrums

I’m so thankful that the Lord gave us a fairly calm and easy going little boy. Recently I came to realize that I had no clue what I was doing when Dillinger would get frustrated and throw a fit. Stefan Molyneux described what I was experiencing as showing up in a suit of armor to run the New York City Marathon and asking “Ok, where’s the finish line?” Uh, definitely a little late to win but you can still get there if you make some adjustments.

tantrum_crop

I thought this article offered a lot of good insight toddler tantrums. In my tiny amount of experience, reading your child’s signs (“I’m tired”, “I’m hungry”, “I’m overwhelmed”) really help in redirecting tantrums and even avoiding them all together. Lately Dillinger has been getting upset because his tower of blocks won’t go as high as he would like or falls over. It’s pretty cute actually, minus the screaming. I know he doesn’t understand but I still try to communicate to him that I know he is upset and offer solutions like, “Try this block instead?” It seems to be working so far.

Best of luck to all my fellow parents and caregivers out there. We truly have the most important job in the world! :)

Leave a comment

Filed under personal

Leave a Reply

